Bach: Schauet doch und sehet, ob irgendein Schmerz sei, BWV 46

[Cantata Sunday]

Cantata No. 46 'Schauet doch und sehet, ob irgendein Schmerz sei' (Behold and see, if there be any sorrow) was composed by Bach in 1723, his first year in Leipzig. The work is unusually richly-scored for a slide trumpet, two recorders, two oboes da caccia, and strings. The opening movement starts as a lament and ends with an aggitated fugue that depicts 'the Lord's wrathful anger'.

Text and translation:

Playlist of all the music I have shared:


#cantata #bach #german #barqoue #vocal

Recent Posts
Search By Tags